15 foods you (probably) didn’t know were vegan

0


Have you ever thought about going vegan and wondered how difficult it would be?

While there’s no doubt that switching to a vegan diet can present challenges, you might be surprised to find that a number of the foods you already eat are vegan.

From cereals to snacks, there’s something for everyone.

Here are some of the foods you might not have known about being vegan.

1. Cereals of life

Life Cereal does not contain any animal derivative.
Amazon

A staple for breakfast, Life cereal contains no ingredients of animal origin.

However, they still contain ingredients that divide the vegan community, such as artificial colors and BHT which may have been tested on animals, and sugar.

In the United States, sugar is sometimes refined using animal bones.

Get three boxes for $ 7.56 on Amazon.

2. Twizzlers

Unlike many other candies, Twizzlers are made without gelatin.

They also use glycerin derived from vegetable oils rather than animal fats.

Get a box of 105 for $ 13.95 on Amazon.

3. Doritos

Busta Rhymes Holds a Bundle of Doritos
Busta Rhymes holds a packet of Doritos Blaze, which is suitable for vegans.
Robin Marchant / Getty Images

Only two specific flavors of Doritos are vegan and these are Blaze and Spicy Sweet Chili, available for $ 3.44 at Walmart.

Their vegan status has been confirmed by Peta.

4. French fries

Fritos
Only the original flavor of Fritos is suitable for vegans.
Walmart

Another smart on the list, the Fritos are vegan, but only the original flavor.

Get your hands on a package from Walmart for $ 3.48.

5. Cliff bars

Blueberry Crispy Clif Bars
The majority of the Clif Bar range, including these Blueberry Crisps, are suitable for vegans.
Walmart

For a tasty snack, all of the classic flavors of Clif bars are vegan except for the peanut butter and honey.

Pick up a box of six Blueberry Crisp bars from Walmart for $ 5.78.

6. Sour Patch Kids

Children's sour patch
Although Sour Patch Kids does not technically contain any animal derivatives, some vegans may still choose to avoid them.
Walmart

Sour Patch Kids is another gelatin-free candy.

However, some vegans consider them to be in a gray area because once again they contain sugar, it is not clear if the natural flavors are from animal derivatives, and it is not clear if the food coloring used is. tested on animals.

Get a family size bag for $ 4.98 at Walmart.

7. Ritz crackers

Ritz Biscuit
Despite their cheesy flavor, Ritz Crackers are actually vegan.
Walmart

Despite their cheesy flavor, Ritz Crackers are actually vegan.

Get a family pack from Walmart for $ 3.56.

8. Pringles

Pringles Original
Not all Pringles flavors are suitable for vegans.
Walmart

Not all Pringles flavors are vegan, but there are a few in the range that don’t contain any animal derivatives.

These include the Original, Paprika, Asian Sriracha Chili Sauce, Wasabi and Soy Sauce, Habanero Chili Salsa, Salty Wavy Classic, Lightly Salted Original, Kickin ‘Chicken Taco, and Bacon.

Buy the Pringles line at Walmart.

9. Bowling

A pack of bowling pins the size of a party
Bowling is suitable for vegans
Walmart

The bowling pins are made without any ingredient of animal origin.

However, sugar is present again and it is not clear if this used charcoal from animal bones in the refining process.

Pick up a party-sized bag of Skittles for $ 9.98 at Walmart.

10. Oreos

A plate of Oreos
Although Oreos are not made with animal derivatives, some may contain traces of milk.
Getty

While Oreos have long been touted as a staple for vegan snacks, they’re another that has sparked a little debate within the vegan community.

Although they are not made with animal products, small amounts of milk can come in contact with the equipment used to make the cookie, so some may contain traces of dairy products.

Buy a Family Pack for $ 3.67 at Walmart.

11. Nut butter

Nut butters
Nut butters are technically vegan as they contain no animal derivatives.
Walmart

Nut butters are technically vegan, but again contain sugar and it is not clear whether animal bone charcoal was used in the refining process.

The origin of the natural flavor is also unknown and some vegans prefer to choose foods that do not contain palm oil, which is listed as an ingredient in Nutter Butters, due to its environmental impacts.

Pick up a family pack from Walmart for $ 3.43.

12. Unglazed Pop Tarts

Unglazed Strawberry Pop-Tarts
Unglazed Pop-Tarts are suitable for vegans and do not contain gelatin.
Walmart

Another surprising vegan snack is the Pop Tarts, but especially the unglazed varieties.

These are made without gelatin.

Get a 16-pack from Walmart for $ 3.94.

13. breadsticks from the olive garden

If you go, you’ll be happy to know that Olive Garden’s breadsticks are completely vegan.

14. Ben & Jerry’s

Ben & Jerry's Dairy Free Cookie Dough
Ben & Jerry’s offers many popular flavors, like cookie dough, as dairy-free and vegan alternatives.
Walmart

The Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy range offers 20 different flavors of ice cream suitable for vegans.

The brand has partnered with Vegan Action to ensure their ice cream is certified vegan.

Grab a tub at Walmart for $ 4.48.

15. Taco Bell Cinnamon Twists

For dessert lovers, Taco Bell’s cinnamon twists are another unintentionally vegan food.

Newsweek may earn a commission from the links on this page, but we only recommend products that we support. We participate in various affiliate marketing programs which means that we may receive commissions on products chosen by the editorial staff and purchased through our links to retailer sites. Prices are correct at the time of writing.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.